Democrat Susan Moran defeated Republican James “Jay” McMahon III in Tuesday’s special election

May 21, 2020: Democrat Susan Moran, of Falmouth, defeated Republican James “Jay” McMahon III, of Bourne, 55% to 45% in Tuesday’s special election. The election had been delayed for nearly two months due to the COVID-19 public health emergency. Moran will succeed former state Sen. Viriato “Vinny” deMacedo, R-Plymouth, who vacated the post in late 2019 to take a position at Bridgewater State University. She will be the first Cape Cod resident to hold the seat in more than three decades, and the first Democrat since longtime Senate President Therese Murray, D-Plymouth, decided not to seek reelection in 2014. Moran will now join state Sen. Julian Cyr, D-Truro, in representing the region in the Senate. The seat is up for reelection for a full two-year term in the fall. The Plymouth and Barnstable District includes Bourne, Falmouth and Sandwich in Barnstable County and Kingston, Pembroke and Plymouth in Plymouth County.


More News