Tennessee Gov. Matt Bevin appointed Chairman, Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority

Feb. 7, 2019: Tennessee Gov. Matt Bevin has been appointed as the Chairman of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority for 2019. The Authority is a four-state interstate compact comprised of the states of Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, and Tennessee, and the Authority was ratified by the U.S. Congress in 1958 to promote the development of the Tenn-Tom Waterway and its economic and trade potential. Members include the four Governors and five appointees by each Governor, for a total of twenty-four Members. The Chairman position rotates annually among the four Governors. The waterway compact is also scheduled to be led in 2019 by Kenny Imes, of Murray, Kentucky as the Vice Chairman, and T. L Phillips of Columbus, Miss., as the Treasurer. Imes is the Judge-Executive of Calloway County, Ken., and he has been a Member of the waterway compact since 2017. Phillips, a businessman, is the longest-serving Member of the Authority, having first been appointed in 1988. The Tenn-Tom opened to commerce in 1985 and operates as a transportation route for shipping raw materials and other bulk products between mid-America and the Southeast.

Attribution: Governor's Office

More News