Twelve people appointed as NASA Astronauts

June 14, 2017: National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) officials on Wednesday, June 7, 2017, announced the twelve men and women who comprise the 2017 NASA Astronaut class--the largest Astronaut class since 2000. NASA chose the twelve Astronauts from more than 18,300 applicants. NASA officials announced the new Astronauts at the agency’s Johnson Space Center in Houston on June 7. The 2017 Astronauts are: U.S. Navy Lt. Kayla Barron, 29, originally from Richland, Washington; Zena Cardman, 29, of Williamsburg, Va.; U.S. Air Force Lt. Col. Raja Chari, 39, from Waterloo, Iowa; U.S. Navy Lt. Cmdr. Matthew Dominick, 35, who was born and raised in Wheat Ridge, Col.; Bob Hines, 42, of Harrisburg, Pa.; Warren Hoburg, 31, who is originally from Pittsburgh; U.S. Navy Lt. Jonny Kim, 33, who was born and raised in Los Angeles; Robb Kulin, 33, from Anchorage, Alaska; U.S. Marine Corps Maj. Jasmin Moghbeli, 33, of Baldwin, N.Y.; Loral O’Hara, 34, of Sugar Land, Texas; U.S. Army Maj. Francisco Rubio, 41, who is originally from Miami; and Jessica Watkins, 29, from Lafayette, Colorado.

Attribution: NASA

More News